Featured: Alumni

Campbell Award: Lifetime Achievement – Walter R. Shelton, MD

The Campbell Clinic was proud to present the 2024 Campbell Award for Lifetime Achievement to Dr. Walter R. Shelton II. This award honors a leader in the field of orthopaedic surgery for significant and noteworthy accomplishments and contributions to patient care, research, teaching and publications, service and advocacy, and community outreach.

In the course of Dr. Shelton’s illustrious career, he co-founded the Mississippi Sports Medicine and Orthopaedic Center in Jackson, MS, which now boasts 21 physicians across 7 sub-specialties, and offers Advanced Surgeon Training while providing excellent patient care. He also served as clinical faculty at the University of Mississippi Department of Orthopaedic Surgery from 1984-2019, and as team physician for Jackson State University, Delta State University, Hinds Community College, and Jackson Preparatory High School. He retired from practice in 2019.

A member of multiple professional organizations, including AAOS, AMA, and AOS, Dr. Shelton is a past president of the Arthroscopy Association of North America, serving on their board of directors and as chairman of their education foundation. He served as Godfather for their Traveling Fellow Program in 2012 and was honored with a lifetime achievement award by the same association in 2020.

Dr. Shelton has made over 100 scientific paper presentations, grand rounds and visiting professor lectures nationally and internationally. He published 21 peer reviewed articles and contributed 11 book chapters throughout his career. He served several industry research and surgical advisory boards, including the Zimmer Neocartilage Research Team from 2009-2016 and Smith and Nephew Surgical Advisory Board from 2004-2016.

A graduate of Mississippi State University, Dr. Shelton earned his MD from the University of Mississippi Medical School. He completed his internship at Baylor University, followed by his residency at the University of Tennessee – Campbell Clinic, class of 1979. He received the Berg-Sloat Award for Continuing Education from the AAOS and earned Board Certification in Orthopaedic Surgery.

Share to:

Follow Us:

More Stories: